North Carolina beach trip with the fam…and Jamie Fraser?!

Fort Johnston Garrison House, Southport, NC

I just returned from a relaxing week of vacation with my family on the beautiful coast of North Carolina. My grandparents own a house just outside of Southport and we’ve been going each summer for as long as I’ve been alive. This year we did the usual stuff: daily walks on the beach, lounging around in the sun, reading, and eating lots of delicious food. (Thai Peppers = Greatest. Food. Ever.) We broke from the norm this year, however, when my Mom suggested renting bicycles and cruising around historic Southport for a day. We had also seen signs for a Farmer’s Market by the water and wanted to check it out as well.

The Market was held in front of the Fort Johnston Garrison House, which was built in the early 1800′s on top of what remained of Fort Johnston. Fort Johnston was burned down during the Revolutionary War in 1775. As I was strolling around, sort of mindlessly admiring the food and crafts for sale, I noticed this historic marker. I read it and snapped a picture and paused for a moment. I felt this nagging feeling in the back of my mind, like I was familiar with the names on that plaque…Josiah Martinthe Cruizerwhere do I know that from?…and then it hits me – A BREATH OF SNOW AND ASHES!

Naturally, I was extremely excited about this realization and I immediately started blabbering about Jamie Fraser. It went something like this:

me: “OH MY GOD!!! THIS IS WHERE GOVERNOR MARTIN BROUGHT CLAIRE??? THIS IS THE FORT THAT JAMIE FRASER HELPED BURN DOWN BEFORE RESCUING HER!!!!!”

my husband: “OH MY GOD. Jamie Fraser IS NOT REAL.”

my mom: “Oh! Is that the man from that book you like so well?”

me: “Yes Mom *rolls eyes* the one that you still haven’t even started reading even though you’ve had it for 3 months now! HOLY CRAP, I HAD NO IDEA THAT THIS IS WHERE IT HAPPENED!!! I LOVE SOUTHPORT EVEN MORE NOW!!! “

my husband: *shaking his head in disgust* “This is where the fort was burned down and where the Governor fled, but since Jamie and Claire Fraser are NOT REAL PEOPLE, they were not here.”

me: “This is where Jamie rowed out to rescue Claire from the ship! Can you imagine looking out across the water RIGHT HERE to see him rowing out of the smoke?!! *clutching bosom* Then he boards the ship and rips her cap off, tosses it into the water and fluffs her hair before giving her a deep, romantic kiss! *swoon* It was one of my favorite parts of the book!!!” *squeeeeeel*

my husband: *turns around and walks away*

Well, the hubs clearly didn’t see the significance of this unexpected, yet AMAZING surprise. And just for the record, I do realize that Jamie and Claire are fictional people, but the prospect of getting to see or experience actual locations discussed in my favorite books (or any book that I’m reading, and not just the Outlander series) gives me the sense of knowing the characters that much better. It enhances the intimacy of the relationships by giving me another perspective from which to view the story, as well as adding to my precious cache of mental imagery. Of course, everything is magnified when it comes to Diana Gabaldon’s characters since they are already so incredibly vivid and realistic to me.

I took lots of photos and made a panoramic of the view from Fort Johnston, looking out into the waterway where the mouth of the Cape Fear River meets the Atlantic Ocean (please ignore my lackluster photo-stiching skills). This is where Jamie would have gotten into a boat after helping set fire to the fort and rowed out to rescue Claire from the Cruizer, which was anchored just offshore (if they were real people, of course). Very exciting for us Jamie fans!

Waterfront view from Fort Johnston Garrison House

Actually, I shouldn’t act like that was the first time that the Fraser’s were mentioned during this trip. En route to the beach, we drove through Asheville, NC and I couldn’t help but declare “Just think, Jamie and Claire made this trip across the state many times to Jocasta’s house, but they had to do it on horseback! Can you imagine?” (This statement was met with a car-full of chirping crickets.) I also joined Twitter so that I could follow Diana G and I cheerfully kept my eager family (note the extreme sarcasm) up to date on her postings.

In addition to the aforementioned exciting events, September 22 was the anniversary of our wedding in 2007. We didn’t do anything extravagant since being at the beach and getting to eat at my favorite restaurant of all time was celebration enough. I had time, however, to pause and remember that fateful proposal on the top of Roan Mountain. The hubs gets mad props for his chosen location for said event, he put a lot of thought into it to make sure that it would be a place that was near and dear to my heart. We had just found out that my Dad had sold his house on top of Roan Mountain and that he would only be in possession of the house for one more weekend (I think Pops had “forgotten” to mention that he sold the house because he knew I would be upset about it, thus we found out at the last-minute.). We hastily made plans to travel to East Tennessee and spend the last weekend there. Before we left though, he told a minor fib about going to help a friend move a washing machine while he was really rushing out to buy a ring (since he was wasn’t expecting the Roan Mtn house to be going anywhere anytime soon). We hiked to the top of the mountain, he proposed and we watched the sunset. It was very romantic.  

Husband, if you are reading this…look away now! (Trust me…don’t go any further!) As I’ve mentioned in a previous post, I can connect my wedding proposal (and so much more) to Jamie and Claire Fraser (mad skills, I tell you). Claire mentions in Drums of Autumn that she can see Roan Mountain from Fraser’s Ridge, so when I think back to the gorgeous view from atop the mountain, I can’t help but think of how Jamie and Claire were looking at the same beautiful scenery :)

Actual view from proposal spot on Roan Mountain...Breathtaking!

8 comments on “North Carolina beach trip with the fam…and Jamie Fraser?!

  1. Bridget says:

    beatiful pics! maybe I’ll go with you on the next beach vacay and I’ll definitely share in the giddy excitement! or road trip? :)

    • Ummm, you know that I am 100% down for an Outlander road trip through North Carolina any time! I will literally drop any and all BOD’s on the spot and hit the road! I may hold you to this, chica :)

  2. T.Y. says:

    If my bf and I went to that fort, we’ll have the same conversation. As a matter of fact, we already do…

    • Maggie Cooper says:

      Jamie and Claire are not real people? Please don’t say that. I live for the next book. I’m doing the audio right now, on Dragonfly in Amber and won’t stop until I have gone thru all of them. The pumpkin was beautiful, great work!

  3. Rachel says:

    As I am in a car going to a beach, all I can think is that you make me smile so much with this. I can actually see the boy throw his arms up in disgust and walk away from you.

    Well if you are going anytime to the beach I am down…it is the ocean and well that is all I really need. Also the jobless wonder has way too much time on her hands. Why are you not following me on twitter? I would feel insulted, but as I have never writen your favorite books ever I guess I understand.

    • Dang Gina! I told you that I couldn’t find you on Twitter because I am like an old lady and I don’t know how to use it! You were supposed to show me how and now I’m kinda sad that you didn’t :( You must help me and also try to break my habit of calling it “Tweeter.” Have you seen that commercial with Betty White where she says something about Twitter? The hubs teases me by saying “Even Betty White knows how to say it!” Have fun at the beach :)

  4. harvestofpeace says:

    Hello. I was so excited to come across this post! I am going to be working in NC for a few months and am researching Outlandish sites to visit. If you have any leads on others I would love to hear about them. Thanks in advance-Therese

    • Oh my, I’m sorry for the incredibly late response! You must visit the Blowing Rock/Boone/Asheville area to get an idea of what Fraser’s Ridge may have looked like (I believe DG said it would have been very close to Blowing Rock, NC). And when you’re in Asheville, stop by the Highland Brewing Company and have a Gaelic Ale :)

Leave a Reply

