Baby Crafts!

I’ve been a baby crafting machine lately, but I’m happy to report that the gifts for Angela’s bouncing baby boy are finally finished and delivered! And the fact that she seems to like them makes me even happier. I’ve had a lot of requests to see these goodies, so without further ado…

It’s a turtle quilt! You knew it was going to either be a turtle or a toad, right? I thought about a gnome, but I found a pattern for a turtle and it seemed a bit more quiltable.

It is so hard to take a photo of a quilt when you have very tiny bedrooms!

I have a signature baby gift: the tie-dyed onesie! Seriously people, there is nothing cuter than a baby in a tie-dyed onesie. Plus, they’re so fun to make. Here are my favorites (with some burping/nursing blankets)…

He's going to be the coolest kid on the block ;)

I also did a little inventing this time around…I made a bath apron out of a towel. I was pretty proud of myself, but since I don’t have a baby to test it out with, I have no idea how practical or effective it actually is. (Angela will have to give us a report once baby boy arrives.) Either way, I’m going to show you how to make one too. All you need is a bath towel (pre-washed and dried) and some washable ribbon.

Step 1: Cut out the neck hole.

Step 2: Fold the ribbon over the neck hole to enclose the seam, and fold the rest of the ribbon in half. Give yourself enough length to tie around the neck, and sew it up.

Step 3: Fold the towel roughly in half (close to where the waist would be when worn) and stitch about 7 inches to make the pocket. You will also need to attach ribbon (folded in half to match the neck tie) here at the sides to be tied around the waist. (If you don’t have a way of securing it around the waist, the pocket will go slack.)

And that’s it! Very simple, fast, inexpensive, easy, and (hopefully) convenient. The idea is that it will protect you from getting wet during bath time, and you will also be able to flip the bottom up to dry baby off and keep him warm while holding him. It’s also pretty much one size fits all, so it could be worn by either mom or dad.

(Just pretend there is a baby in there.)

 It seems like everyone I know is now pregnant, so I’ll probably be doing more baby crafting soon, but for now, I’m off to read…