Interesting link: a Sassenach reflects on Scottish language

I stumbled upon this today and it made me smile, so I thought I’d share. I especially like the part about “juice” and “ginger” in reference to pop. Where I’m from in Tennessee, we use the term “coke” to refer to any generic carbonated beverage. I’ll ask for a coke, which is then followed with “what kind?”

http://blog.oxforddictionaries.com/2011/11/reflections-of-a-scot-down-south/

Scottish bar stool for kilt wearers (completely unrelated to aforementioned post)

5 comments on “Interesting link: a Sassenach reflects on Scottish language

  1. JustHeather says:

    I love them both! Although the bar stool got a bigger chuckle fro me.

  2. Rachie says:

    Saw this and bookmarked you. Friend. Friend friend friend. xxoo happy christmas. Hope yer man is well.

  3. Belinda Helms says:

    You are awesome! Thanks for the barstool addition. Too funny.

  4. Thanks for the marvelous posting! I genuinely enjoyed reading it, you might
    be a great author. I will remember to bookmark
    your blog and will eventually come back in the future.
    I want to encourage you to continue your great writing, have a
    nice afternoon!

Leave a Reply

