The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner

Bree Tanner

I wasn’t planning on reading Stephenie Meyer’s newest addition to the Twilight series until this afternoon, when I stumbled upon www.breetanner.com. Meyer apparently made the new novella available for free for the past month as a gift to her fans. I wish I had discovered it sooner so that I could spread the word, but I am glad that I at least caught it on the last day and had the chance to read it. I wasn’t really expecting much since I don’t remember thinking Bree’s character significant (or interesting) enough to warrant her own novel; and I guess I had already written it off as just an easy way to squeeze a little more out of the cash cow that is Twilight, but as a quick afternoon read (on a painfully slow day at work), I found it quite enjoyable. There’s no major character development, but it does hold your attention even though you know exactly how it is going to end (assuming you have read Eclipse).

 Three month old Bree isn’t fitting in very well with the other new vampires in Victoria’s army, until she meets Diego. They become fast friends and together discover that most of what they’ve been told about their vampire nature is untrue. However, by the time they realize that they are just pawns in a larger plan to destroy “the yellow – eyes,” it is too late to escape. I actually found myself caring more about Diego than Bree (again, I already knew what was going to happen to Bree) and my eagerness to learn his fate had me quickly turning the pages. Overall, I was pleasantly surprised and I’d recommend it as a very quick and easy summer read.

7 comments on “The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner

  1. Bridget says:

    Brandon bought me this book.. i turned my nose up at the ~150 pages, but maybe i’ll give it a go..

  2. Rachel says:

    So why am I not surprised….

  3. Bridget says:

    P.S. I did read this book.. it was okay, I guess, not quite enough storyline.. she could have done much, much more with it and it would have been better. Just seemed like as soon as I was getting interested in the characters, they (*spoiler alert*) died! lol

    • It was very shallow to be sure, but still entertaining as a short story if you knew what you were getting into. I just don’t think Bree’s character would be worth any further development and it’s not enough to carry a whole book as is. It’ll still look good on your shelf though ;)

Leave a Reply

