Dragon*Con, here I come!

It’s official: I am going to Dragon*Con. What else is official? I have crossed that invisible line and reached a whole new level of nerdiness. I might just be the nerdiest person you know.

I’ve been listening to Rachel’s tales of Dragon*Con shenanigans for years now.  While I always thought it sounded amazing, I guess I assumed that my lack of interest in Star Trek or Battlestar Galactica would prevent my acceptance at such an event. I had visions of Klingons and Storm Troopers shunning me or forcibly removing me from the premises after finding out that I’ve never actually been able to sit through Star Wars from beginning to end (much to my husband’s chagrin).

Well, that still remains to be seen, but all hesitation and insecurities ceased to exist when I found out that DIANA GABALDON is going to be there! I was already planning on making a Claire Fraser costume and taking pictures (yep, I’m awesome like that), so when I discovered that she was going to be at Dragon*Con promoting the new Outlander graphic novel only days after discussing the possibility of going this year with Rachel, I took it as a sign that my nerd level far exceeded the requirement and that I absolutely had to be there.

Now comes the tricky part: narrowing down my ever-growing list of costume ideas and actually getting them made in such a short period of time (only a month!). In addition to dressing up as Claire so that I’ll appear as crazy as humanly possible when I (hopefully) get to meet Diana G, I will also be dressing up as a Vampire Squid for the special “Night at the Georgia Aquarium” event. I haven’t exactly figured out how to pull this off, but here is my inspiration…

Rachel and her friend Greggo will be donning jellyfish costumes, complete with blinking LED lights. Ah, we’ll be the life of the party for sure ;)

I always have great ideas when it comes to costumes, unfortunately I have a little procrastination problem that usually gets the best of me. I want to post updates of my progress that will hopefully keep me motivated to get everything done in a timely fashion and keep the stress level at a minimum . Does anyone remember me being up all night -with a needle and thread in one hand and a glass of wine in the other - on the eve of my wedding day, trying to finish up all the bridesmaid dresses? Yeah, I’d like to avoid that if at all possible.

Let the costuming begin!

3 comments on “Dragon*Con, here I come!

  1. Rachel says:

    Oh dear, let the freak flag fly honey cause you ain’t seen nothing yet! Just think you will be in the whole hearted love of goofiness (just don’t tell anyone you have seen star wars) that knows no bounds. We shall frolick in heart of hotlanta with bells on!

    My umbrella came today! Guess I am getting those led lights now!

    • You really don’t know how excited I am…I cannot wait!!!! I absolutely will not let anyone know that I haven’t been able to sit through Star Wars OR any of the Lord of the Rings Movies *gasp!* (I don’t understand it either because it seems so up my alley…and don’t tell anyone, but I’ve never seen a whole episode of Star Trek either…). I will, however, be totally caught up to Stargate Atlantis :) Yayyyyy!!!!

      • Rachel says:

        This is all I really need because once you cross that dark line into atlantis there is no turning back

Leave a Reply

