Virtual Jamie Fraser

*Disclaimer: you will not find this remotely funny unless you are a fan of Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander series.

My husband recently received a PS3 and several sports themed games to go along with it. We are in psuedo-isolation for several months while he heals post transplant, and being stuck in a small space with a man playing bocce ball on a video screen…let’s just say this is my personal idea of hell. After hearing my complaints and taking pity on me, our dear friends Jason and Jessica decided to get him a game that I possibly wouldn’t loathe as much. Jason decided on the role-playing game, Skyrim. He also attempted to sell me on this game by taunting me with the fact that “He can create his character to look like Jamie Fraser! You wouldn’t mind watching Jamie Fraser, right?” He didn’t need to say any more, and of course, I took the bait.

Richie agreed to make his character look like a Scottish Highlander and he was doing a fair job of remembering Jamie’s more obvious physical features, but he soon grew tiresome of my heckling from across the room and didn’t put up a fight when I took possession of the controller. The detail in this game is astonishing (you choose everything down to the length of the nose of your choice), but I do believe there is a built-in block to prevent you from making yourself too good-looking. I was throughly entertained during the process, however, which in turn thoroughly entertained my husband (and Jason and Jessica). And yes, I named him “Jamie Fraser.”

After all the work I put into it though, I was rather dismayed to discover that you don’t actually see your character while playing the game…so Jason’s original plan sort of backfired, but I’ll take this over bocce ball any day.

19 comments on “Virtual Jamie Fraser

  1. Paige Turner says:

    Happy to see that your husband is recovering from his surgery. Best of everything to you both.

    I’m in the process of “audio-reading” An Echo in the Bone. While some have not enjoyed this book as much as the previous ones, I love just spending time with Claire, Jamie & all the family. DG’s prose is so beautiful and Diva Porter’s narration so perfect that it’s like listening to music.

    Merry Christmas–

  2. LaLee says:

    I must say that it pretty amazing! Love it.

  3. JustHeather says:

    Lol! This is great!
    Glad to hear your husband is on the road to recovery. May you both stay entertained.

  4. Bridget says:

    I’m in virtual love <3. ;-)

  5. I think my favourite part is his loin cloth ;) Theresa

  6. Joan says:

    Oh my goodness! That is SO funny! I love it!

  7. Marita says:

    Nice!!!! ;-)

  8. And another thing: I wish you all the best for the days of isolation!!! (I\ve now logged in by my facebook-account, thinking it`s more fair that you see “my face” – I`m the one to the right… ;-) )

  9. maria says:

    Love it! I hope you husband is doing well and I wish you both a verra Merry Christmas!

  10. outlanderfan says:

    That is awesome, lol! Kudos to your husband for being such a good sport (and you too!)

  11. La Dame Blanche says:

    He he too funny I found myself immediately going, yep the hair is right, like the height, like the body, but where are the scars?

    Well done.

    Hope your “jamie” is recovering well :)

    Happy Hogmany !

    • I know, unfortunately back and thigh scars were not an option ;) There was war paint, however, that made me think of the scene when he rescued Claire in ABOSAA, but hubs drew the line. (He is doing great, thank you for the well wishes!)

Leave a Reply

