Celtic food, here I come.

I received several wonderful books for Christmas this year, including Celtic Folklore Cooking by Joanne Asala. It’s a collection of traditional recipes from Wales, Cornwall, Ireland, England, and of course, Scotland. In addition to recipes for Syllabubs, Boxty, Hallowe’en Barm Brack, Faerie Porridge, and Bubble and Squeak (very similar to Rumblethumps!); it also has colorful proverbs, folktales and an introduction to the Celtic Wheel of the Year. There’s even an herbal recipe to see Faeries from the sixteenth-century! Jessica, you really hit the nail on the head with this gift – I love it. (She also gave me a bottle of Scotch and two adorable tumblers from which to drink it. She’s a good gal, that Jessica ;)) 

Last night I made my first foray into the recipes and chose Yellow Meal Bread from Scotland to accompany my Bean and Barley Soup with turnip greens. Beside the recipe is this Scottish folksong :

Yellow is the corn in the glen of Ardkinglas; And yellow is the bracken on the sides of Ben Ima; Yellow is the hair of my loved one, And yellow shall be the dye for her kirtle.

I apparently need to hone my bread-making skills, since it came out looking quite lumpy, but it was tasty nonetheless; and I broke out the wooden bowls as well, so we felt positively historic. 

Cut your own loaf and you’ll never be hungry. (Scottish Proverb)

4 comments on “Celtic food, here I come.

  1. Carla says:

    What a cheerful table! With all my cookbooks and the celtic heritage, I’ve never acquired one of the green isles. What a great friend!

  2. Bridget says:

    looks yummy! think i’d like to try that ‘herbal recipe’ to see fairies :)!

  3. Jessica Lacy says:

    Bri, I’m so excited you liked my gift! …and blogged about it! I hope this doesn’t set me up to fail in future gift-giving endeavors ;) P.S. Look! I’m commenting on your blog!

    • YAY!!! A comment from Jessica!!!! This makes me so happy!! And I really do love the gift, you should come visit and I’ll cook you Bubble and Squeak and then we can attempt to see faeries ;)

Leave a comment