Catching up

I can’t believe it’s been over two years since my last post. Quite a bit has happened since October 2012…new job, new town, and new house, just to name a few things. Oh, and I went to SCOTLAND! (Pictures and stories forthcoming.)

I woke up today to a beautiful winter wonderland – and the good news that my work office is closed – which means SNOW DAY!!! I’m taking this opportunity to sit down and start blogging again.

snow day collage

Where to begin? I’m happy to report that Richie is doing very well. We celebrated his 3rd “Transplantiversary” back in November, complete with wonderfully apropos lung shaped cookies (thanks to Angela’s incomparable gifting skills).

PicMonkey Collage 1

Ruby and Levi are largely unchanged, still digging lots of holes, sneaking into the garden, and barking at inopportune times.

As for me, I’m a little older and a little wiser. Two of my new favorite hobbies are crochet and vegan cooking. I’ve started doing some serious meal-planning and I only go to the grocery store once a month now, which has really helped out budget-wise. I am going to finally finish the quilt that I began *gulp* 3 years ago (has it really been that long??), and I want to start experimenting with various techniques in the form of mini-quilts (I have learned that it’s perhaps not so wise to take on a queen-sized quilt as your first foray into the craft). I picked up my real camera today for the first time in a very long time, and it felt good.

I’m happy to be back in my little corner of the interwebs. We should have snow days more often :)

12 comments on “Catching up

  1. Marita Soleng says:

    So VERY nice to read this!!!! :-) I`ve seen you at Facebook sometimes, but now I have been away from f.b. for a long time…. So good it is all well with you, Richie and the dogs :-) Here in Norway we have snowdays all the time now ;-) Looking forward to read more blogging :-) Marita Soleng, Norway

    • Hi Marita! We only get a few snow days each winter- if we’re lucky- nothing compared to Norway! It was good to hear from you, hope all is well your way too :)

      • Marita Soleng says:

        Everything`s fine :-) Most of the days are filled with my farmerjob, house and family. Reading your blog, and others sometimes wants me to make my own…… but…..I never start .-( I have seen Outlander – and I am looking forward to see more in April !!!!!!!!!!!! Usually I like reading best, and was scared that the film would destroy the feelings I have reading – but I liked the film also ;-) Going to Scotland would be wonderful!!!( though not trough stones i guess ;-) Having a farm is a job that make me stay most at home, so I don`t travel much…. maybe some day……. Have nice days, Bri!!!!

  2. Jayne Martin says:

    So wonderful to see you back!

  3. T Y says:

    You’re back! Missed you. In all that time Outlander became a series! Were you freaking out when it premiered? How was Scotland?
    Anyway, don’t stay away too long!
    T.Y

    • Hello! I definitely freaked out a bit when the series aired, and then again after the wedding episode! Scotland was beautiful and I want to go back. How is your book coming along?! Thanks for stopping by!

  4. T Y says:

    I think I spent most of the first episode screaming and squealing. And I might have watched the wedding episode several times. Are you ready for April?!!
    Did you visit the places featured in Outlander while in Scotland?
    And the book… long torturous publishing journey with a rainbow at the end. I got an agent, got read by editors, decided to go indie instead. It’s coming out March 31st:)

    • Dude, I have watched the wedding episode at least 7 times. Yes, I have read Written In My Own Heart’s Blood and I am so glad that everyone is back at Fraser’s Ridge!! Fraser’s Ridge is my favorite book setting/location of all time, and it warms my heart that the final book (DG has said the next book will be the final one, right?) will take place there.
      I got to visit a few places featured in Outlander, but I was with a friend who does not share my undying love for the series, so it wasn’t specifically an Outlander tour. The Culloden Battlefield was the hightlight of my trip- the museum/memorial there is the best I have ever seen. They have a re-creation of the battle that plays on all four walls in a small room (so it feels like you are in the middle of the action) and I was lucky enough to catch it in a lull so that I was alone in the room. It was so perfectly done and moving…when it ended, I found myself standing there crying like a baby. Inverness in general was my favorite city (we went to Glasgow and Edinburgh as well), it was so relaxed and welcoming and felt most like what I expected Scotland to feel like. Glasgow reminded me of NYC and Edinburgh was SO PACKED FULL OF PEOPLE, SO MANY PEOPLE EVERYWHERE. We stayed at the most wonderful B&B in Inverness and at breakfast one morning I met a couple who were from the western isles. After talking to me for a few minutes, the wife told me that I should’ve planned to stay only in the western isles and highlands (and stayed away from the big cities) to experience old school Scotland. I want to go back (with hubs this time) and do exactly that.
      Congratualtions on publising your first book!! I am so excited to read it!! I would be interested to hear about your journey towards indie, should you ever get the urge to write a blog post about it. (Oh, and I found your new website so I can keep up with all the new books!)

  5. T Y says:

    Oooooh, I forgot to ask if you’ve read Written in My Own Heart’s Blood and FREAKED about the ending?

  6. KATHY CONLEY says:

    GLAD YOU’RE BACK AND ALL IS GOING WELL. I MISSED YOUR UPBEAT AND THOUGHTFUL BLOGGING. KC

Leave a comment