When life gives you lemons…

…make lemon and fig scones.

scone collage

The thought struck me while I was at work, so I wrote “scones” on my hand so I wouldn’t forget…

IMG_4523 Today felt like spring, with a gentle rain throughout…perhaps my subconscious was thinking of Scotland.

IMG_4533

I was wishing for some clotted cream, but a little Tennessee honey did the trick just fine.

Lemon and Fig Scones

  • 2 cups AP flour
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/2 cup (8 tablespoons) margarine
  • 1/2 cup finely diced dried figs
  • grated lemon zest from 2 lemons
  • 3/4 cup buttermilk

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. In a bowl, combine the first 5 ingredients. Cut in the margarine until the mixture looks crumbly. Add the lemon zest and dried figs. Add the buttermilk and stir just until a soft dough forms. Turn out onto a floured surface and knead softly. Form into a ball and with a rolling-pin, roll until 1/2 inch thick. Cut into 8 triangular slices. Place the scones on a silicone baking mat (or well-greased baking sheet) and bake about 12 minutes, until lightly browned.

One comment on “When life gives you lemons…

  1. Angela says:

    yum! And I am so happy to see the blog up and running again!

Leave a comment